Your Guide to Alameda County DUI Schools

Screenshot1

10

Minutes or less Avg. Response Time

Screenshot2

1000+

Handled Cases

Screenshot4

99%

Client Satisfaction

What Are DUI Schools?

When a person is convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Alameda County, California, they may face several penalties, including jail time, payment of fines, and suspension of their driver’s license. 

The court and the State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may also require the convict to complete a mandatory DUI educational program as part of their sentence or before their driving privileges are reinstated.

DUI Schools are educational programs designed for people convicted of DUI offenses. These programs are often part of the legal consequences of a DUI conviction and can be mandatory, depending on the offense’s jurisdiction and severity.

The primary objective of DUI schools is to educate participants about the dangers and consequences of impaired driving. The curriculum typically includes topics such as the physical and psychological effects of alcohol and other drugs, the impact of DUI on society, and strategies for responsible decision-making to avoid future DUI offenses.

The length and intensity of these programs can vary. Some might last a few days, while others could extend for several months. They may also include individual or group counseling sessions. Completing a DUI school program can be a condition for reinstating a driver’s license after a DUI conviction.

If you’re dealing with a DUI conviction in Alameda County, California, and you’ve been directed to complete a DUI program, please don’t try to avoid it. Otherwise, you may never be allowed to drive within the state again.

To help you get started, we’ve put together a short list of licensed Alameda County DUI schools and programs. You can read on to learn more about the available schools and your eligibility to enroll.

Who Needs a DUI School in Alameda County?

You must attend a DUI school when the court that convicted you or the DMV orders it. This usually occurs in several circumstances, including the following:

  • If you’ve been convicted of your first offense DUI in Alameda County, the court may require you to complete a drug and alcohol guidance and counseling program in a DUI school.
  • Drivers who have had their driver’s license suspended after a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hearing may need to complete a three-month program in a DUI school.
  • Drivers convicted or accused of DUI for driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.2% or a second wet reckless driving offense may need to complete a nine-month state-licensed DUI program in an authorized DUI school.
  • Persons convicted of driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% must complete a twelve-hour DUI education program.
  • Persons with prior DUI convictions may need to complete an 18-month multiple-offender program. The program requires them to undergo 52 hours of group counseling, 6 hours of community re-entry supervision, 12 hours of drug and alcohol education, and a once-every-two-week personal interview during the program’s first year.
  • For individuals convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense, the county may require them to attend 30 months of DUI programs with 78 hours of group guidance and counseling, 120–300 hours of community service, 12 hours of drug and alcohol education, and consistent individual interviews.

If you’ve been mandated to attend Alameda County DUI classes, the court or the DMV will specify how long you’re required to attend the program, depending on the severity of your offense.

Some Authorized DUI Schools in Alameda County

DUI schools in California are licensed by the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS). If you’ve been directed to attend one, you must submit an official notice from the school you choose to the DMV before your license is reinstated.

Note that the DHCS does not license internet DUI programs. Online DUI classes do not meet California’s DUI Program requirements. So, before enrolling in any DUI program, be sure the school is duly licensed to offer that program to avoid wasting valuable time and money.

Below are some of the approved DUI programs in Alameda County for you to choose from:

 

Bi-Bett Education Program

Bi-Bett Corp is a non-profit alcohol and addiction treatment center. The DHCS licenses them to organize DUI programs in the San Francisco bay area. Their Hayward, Alameda county center provides outpatient DUI counseling, among other services licensed to provide. Some of their classes are also delivered via video conferencing, so you can attend them anywhere. 

If you’d like to enroll or have further questions, you can contact Bi-Bett via the online form on their website or visit their Hayward center at 1580 Chabot Ct, Suite 200, Hayward, CA 94545.

 

Second Chance, Inc.

Second Chance Inc is a state-licensed center in Alameda County for substance use disorder treatment. They offer all the court-mandated DUI programs at a low cost. They also have flexible payment plans and virtual attendance, which makes it a convenient option to consider. 

Second Chance Inc. is at 6330 Thornton Avenue, Suite B, Newark, California 94560. For further inquiries, you can reach them at (510) 792-4357 or (510) 745-1693 (fax).

Are DUI Classes Free?

DUI classes in California are not free, but the state regulates the amount paid as fees. As such, DUI schools are not allowed to charge exorbitant amounts as fees but must follow the guidelines set by the DHCS.

DUI schools are also not allowed to deny their services to prospective attendees because they cannot afford the fees. Instead, the school must work with the attendee and set up a payment schedule based on the attendee’s documented income.

So, if you’re required to attend DUI school, do not let your finances or lack thereof deter you. You can approach a DUI school of your choice and request them to assess your finances to prove your inability to pay.

If you’re having trouble getting an assessment from a DUI school or dispute the school’s assessment, you can approach the DHCS to review the situation. An experienced DUI lawyer can help you if you need help with how to proceed.

 

What Happens if DUI Offenders Fail to Complete Their Program?

DUI programs have report instructions where a program provider is supposed to provide the presiding judge in each case with the offender’s Certificate of Completion.

If you fail to complete the program or enroll, the presiding judge may issue a warrant for your arrest after a while. This could also lead to further penalties that can affect your driving privileges.

Attending DUI school is an important step towards getting your life back after a DUI arrest and conviction. The sooner you complete the program, the sooner you can regain your driving privileges and be free of the criminal justice system.

How Can a DUI Lawyer Help?

A DUI lawyer can assist in navigating the complexities of DUI cases, including those involving mandatory attendance at DUI schools, such as those in Alameda County. Here’s how:

  • Understanding the Legal System: The legal system can be intricate and overwhelming for someone unfamiliar with its workings. A seasoned DUI lawyer can explain the nuances of the law, guide you through the legal proceedings, and help you understand what to expect at each stage.

  • Plea Bargain: Sometimes, a DUI lawyer may negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor, potentially reducing your charges or the severity of your sentence. This could result in a lesser requirement for DUI school attendance or even an alternative program.

  • Guidance on DUI Schools: If you are mandated to attend a DUI school, your lawyer can provide essential information about the various programs available in Alameda County. They can help you understand the obligations and benefits associated with each, aiding you in selecting the one that best suits your circumstances.

  • License Reinstatement: A DUI conviction often results in suspending your driving license. A DUI lawyer can guide you through the license reinstatement process, which may involve completing a DUI school program.

The Law Office of Rebecca Feigelson Can Help

If you have further questions about your Alameda County DUI case, contact the Law Office of Rebecca Feigelson. We are a firm of experienced DUI defense attorneys and are always ready to provide our clients with creative and helpful legal solutions when all hope seems lost.

We can help defend you in court and support you as you follow through with your DUI program. Contact us today to get answers and top-notch legal representation if necessary. We’ll be happy to work with you.